Skip to content
Home » Baap of IPL: Who Is Considered the Godfather of Indian Cricket?

Baap of IPL: Who Is Considered the Godfather of Indian Cricket?

Indian Premier League is a real jam of cricket – once you play for an Indian franchise, your career will go up. Except for salaries, IPL is all about competition and outskilling each other from edition to edition. Since 2008, IPl has granted us names, which are already in the Indian History Museum. The impact on the young generation is colossal, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, David Warmer – these and some other players have become a real source of inspiration for the youngsters. “Baap of IPL ” comes from the Indian cricket fans community, who are praising the best league players. Another relative synonym to this expression can be Godfather of IPL, although it is being used quite rarely in comparison to baap of cricket or baap of IPL. Without further ado, let’s directly skip it to the players, which fully deserve the status of league’s Godfather. 

Baap of IPL – Virat Kohli 

virat baap of ipl

One of our MVPs, probably the most renowned baap of cricket at this moment. 

Virat Kohli (born 5 November 1988 in Delhi) is an Indian cricketer who has played as a batsman for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League and the Indian cricket team since 2008, of which he is a captain in all three internationally played formats – limited to twenty sets (Twenty20 International), one-day (One Day International) and multi-day matches (Test). In 2008, he led the U19 national team at the World Cup. 

  • Baap of IPL milestone: In April 2021, he became the first IPL player to cross the 6,000-point mark in his career.
  • He has overcome Sachin Tendulkar

The impact of Virat Kohli for sure comes from the pitch, but one of his biggest achievements is his media popularity. With over 200 million subscribers on Instagram, he prophets cricket to the world and draws attention to the Indian Premier League 

Baap of IPl – Rohit Sharma

It is an eternal discourse – Rohit Sharma vs Virat Kohli. We will not take a side between two baap of cricket title-holders, let the numbers do all the job. 

In October 2019, in the third Test against South Africa, Sharma scored his 2,000th run and his first two hundred in test cricket. He scored 212 runs in the first innings of the match. He also broke the legendary batsman Don Bradman’s 71-year-old record of the highest average of 98.24 in test cricket at home to set a new record (99.84). Rohit Sharma broke Shimron Edmeier’s record of most sixes in a match in this Test series.

Sharma has been funded by several companies, including Swiss watchmaker Hublot and SIAT. During his career spanning 11 years, Sharma has been the designer of several companies, including Maggi, Fair, and Lovely, Lace, Nissan, Energy Drink Relatless, Nasivian Nasal Spray, and VIP Industries, Adidas, and Aristokrat of Oppo Mobiles.

So, what makes Rohit Sharma the baap of cricket and baap of IPL at the same time? 

  • 14 wins in a row as a captain of India 
  • Best cricketer of the past 10 years 

Baap of IPL (Team): CSK 

Chennai Super Kings have broken millions of hearts last season. Nevertheless, no one took away their baap of IPL title. 

CSK, which has won the title four times, has the highest success rate among the Indian Premier League teams. The team has won the Champions League Twenty20 trophy in two consecutive years, in 2010 and 2011. In 2013, it also became the first team to have the most consecutive wins (7) in the Indian Premier League. They have also won the Champions League Twenty20 trophy twice. Suresh Raina is the highest run-getter for the team and Dwayne Bravo is the highest run-getter.

On May 24, 2013, Gurunath Meiyappan, the chief executive of the Chennai team, was arrested on charges of gambling and cheating. Following this, the Mudgal Committee set up by the Supreme Court ordered a two-year ban on the team. As a result, CSK did not participate in the IPL in 2016 and 2017. Participated again after the end of the ban period.

Baap of IPL (Team): Mumbai Indians 

The fans will never forget previous seasons, but the new victories will definitely come to Mumbai Indians. The captain of Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma, and Lasith Malinga still have got that something special to bring a new trophy to Wankhede Stadium. 

Mumbai Indians are one of the franchises playing in the Indian Premier League. It is based in The City of Mumbai, Maharashtra. Launched in 2008, the team is owned by Reliance Industries, India’s largest company. Rohit Sharma is currently the captain of the team. It is to be noted that Sachin Tendulkar was the former captain of the team.

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the IPL. They have won the title five times in 12 series so far. They have won twice in the Champions League T20.